Tuesday, November 15, 2011

wrap-tastic!

I got this wrap from etsy:  http://www.etsy.com/listing/81650741/baby-sling-wrap-carrier-black-non

It has been a life saver!  Freya has turned fussy lately, and she is quiet and will sleep in the wrap carrier.  Thank God, because when she is fussy, it is hard to stay sane.  I don't think she is especially worse than any other fussy baby, but a crying baby is like nails on the chalk board to my psyche!  She's also sweet, though, so I can't complain too much.  I've heard that probiotics help with gassiness, which is why she's fussy, I think.  So, I think we'll try them.  It can't hurt.

Papa (Chris) is gone on business.  He's been gone since Sunday afternoon.  It's been okay.  It's actually been better than I expected.  Karen, Chris's mom, came by yesterday to give me a hand while I showered and did a couple of things around the house, and she'll come by again today and maybe spend the night.  I am not sure we'll need her in the night, but it will be nice to know she's close by - thanks, Karen! 

Freya and I went for a walk and to lunch at Moscow on the Hill yesterday.  I had a turkey sandwich.  Freya had formula.  She was really good, though.  She was in the wrap, and I was able to write in the journal I got for her (just keeping track of my thoughts and things about her) and write a card to a friend.  It was nice.  I like being able to go out with her sometimes.  We'll be without Papa until Wednesday night, but I am glad he's gone to do some things with work and be productive with his colleagues.  I will be happy when he gets back.

Work has said that I can bring Freya for the first three months when I return, so she'll be with me until she's approximately six months old.  I am not sure how this will work, but they've done it elsewhere with great success, so we'll see.  I figure it can't hurt to try.  I will meet with my bosses about it in the next few weeks.  I will probably take her in for half-days in the mornings, and then I'll bring her home to Chris at lunch.  This will help him get some stuff done for work that I know he will need to do.  I can bring her home around 2:00, and hopefully he will be mostly done with what he absolutely has to do for the day.  I am happy for this, since we don't have daycare for her.  We are thinking about having someone come in for four hours a day after she is six months old and won't come to work with me anymore.  So, if anyone knows anyone in the Twin Cities looking for a flexible part-time job, please let me know!

This time without Papa has been good for us, I think.  It is a good test.  You single parents out there have my full respect!  I don't know how you do it!

No comments:

Post a Comment