I think Freya is getting auburn hair. I think she is going to be a ginger girl!
She went to the doctor on Tuesday, and she weighed 11-2. That is the 68th %tile. I don't get hung up on percentiles, because I worked at the WIC clinic and plotted on growth charts for years, but I think that is great - she was below the 10th %tile last time. She also got shots, but she did really well with those. She cried, and she looked really surprised when the needle went in - like questioning why we were doing something to her that caused pain. I realized that she is probably one of the best cared for babies. She gets to be with her mother at home for almost 15 weeks. That is nine weeks longer than most babies get to have their mothers at home. Her papa is also at home. This is unusual for any American baby. She wants for nothing, and she has wonderful people who shower her with love all the time. People love seeing her when we go out in public, because she is a charmer. So, she was very surprised indeed, when she got the shots!
She's smiling socially now, too. She loves the morning, and that is when she is most smiley. When she smiles at me, it is one of the best feelings I have ever experienced.
She's fussy in the evening, but that's pretty normal, from what I've read and heard. She likes hip-hop music, and I carry her in the wrap mentioned in the last post, turn on the music and dance with her, and that calms her, and she will EVENTUALLY go to sleep. Sometimes it takes a while, and my back gets tired, but it is better than a Fussy Freya.
We read books and talk to her all the time, and she is so smart - she is trying to talk to us, too. She watches our mouths and tries to move her mouth in the same way we are moving ours when we talk.
Things are going well, but I think about when I have to go back to work, and the fact that she likes to get up at 4:30am. Now, I can take a nap in the day, but I won't be able to do that when I go back to work! Well, we still have time to work on it.
Thursday, November 24, 2011
Tuesday, November 15, 2011
wrap-tastic!
I got this wrap from etsy: http://www.etsy.com/listing/81650741/baby-sling-wrap-carrier-black-non
It has been a life saver! Freya has turned fussy lately, and she is quiet and will sleep in the wrap carrier. Thank God, because when she is fussy, it is hard to stay sane. I don't think she is especially worse than any other fussy baby, but a crying baby is like nails on the chalk board to my psyche! She's also sweet, though, so I can't complain too much. I've heard that probiotics help with gassiness, which is why she's fussy, I think. So, I think we'll try them. It can't hurt.
Papa (Chris) is gone on business. He's been gone since Sunday afternoon. It's been okay. It's actually been better than I expected. Karen, Chris's mom, came by yesterday to give me a hand while I showered and did a couple of things around the house, and she'll come by again today and maybe spend the night. I am not sure we'll need her in the night, but it will be nice to know she's close by - thanks, Karen!
Freya and I went for a walk and to lunch at Moscow on the Hill yesterday. I had a turkey sandwich. Freya had formula. She was really good, though. She was in the wrap, and I was able to write in the journal I got for her (just keeping track of my thoughts and things about her) and write a card to a friend. It was nice. I like being able to go out with her sometimes. We'll be without Papa until Wednesday night, but I am glad he's gone to do some things with work and be productive with his colleagues. I will be happy when he gets back.
Work has said that I can bring Freya for the first three months when I return, so she'll be with me until she's approximately six months old. I am not sure how this will work, but they've done it elsewhere with great success, so we'll see. I figure it can't hurt to try. I will meet with my bosses about it in the next few weeks. I will probably take her in for half-days in the mornings, and then I'll bring her home to Chris at lunch. This will help him get some stuff done for work that I know he will need to do. I can bring her home around 2:00, and hopefully he will be mostly done with what he absolutely has to do for the day. I am happy for this, since we don't have daycare for her. We are thinking about having someone come in for four hours a day after she is six months old and won't come to work with me anymore. So, if anyone knows anyone in the Twin Cities looking for a flexible part-time job, please let me know!
This time without Papa has been good for us, I think. It is a good test. You single parents out there have my full respect! I don't know how you do it!
It has been a life saver! Freya has turned fussy lately, and she is quiet and will sleep in the wrap carrier. Thank God, because when she is fussy, it is hard to stay sane. I don't think she is especially worse than any other fussy baby, but a crying baby is like nails on the chalk board to my psyche! She's also sweet, though, so I can't complain too much. I've heard that probiotics help with gassiness, which is why she's fussy, I think. So, I think we'll try them. It can't hurt.
Papa (Chris) is gone on business. He's been gone since Sunday afternoon. It's been okay. It's actually been better than I expected. Karen, Chris's mom, came by yesterday to give me a hand while I showered and did a couple of things around the house, and she'll come by again today and maybe spend the night. I am not sure we'll need her in the night, but it will be nice to know she's close by - thanks, Karen!
Freya and I went for a walk and to lunch at Moscow on the Hill yesterday. I had a turkey sandwich. Freya had formula. She was really good, though. She was in the wrap, and I was able to write in the journal I got for her (just keeping track of my thoughts and things about her) and write a card to a friend. It was nice. I like being able to go out with her sometimes. We'll be without Papa until Wednesday night, but I am glad he's gone to do some things with work and be productive with his colleagues. I will be happy when he gets back.
Work has said that I can bring Freya for the first three months when I return, so she'll be with me until she's approximately six months old. I am not sure how this will work, but they've done it elsewhere with great success, so we'll see. I figure it can't hurt to try. I will meet with my bosses about it in the next few weeks. I will probably take her in for half-days in the mornings, and then I'll bring her home to Chris at lunch. This will help him get some stuff done for work that I know he will need to do. I can bring her home around 2:00, and hopefully he will be mostly done with what he absolutely has to do for the day. I am happy for this, since we don't have daycare for her. We are thinking about having someone come in for four hours a day after she is six months old and won't come to work with me anymore. So, if anyone knows anyone in the Twin Cities looking for a flexible part-time job, please let me know!
This time without Papa has been good for us, I think. It is a good test. You single parents out there have my full respect! I don't know how you do it!
Sunday, November 6, 2011
We stopped
We stopped breastfeeding. I was trying to pump, but the pumping schedule was too grueling. I was trying to pump every two to three hours - even during sleep time. I was setting an alarm to get up and pump, and I would pump for 30-45 minutes just to get two to three ounces. I was exhausted. I'm still tired, but I'm better. I really wanted Freya to get breastmilk, and ideally, I wanted to nurse her without having to pump, but this did not work out. I spent some time feeling really sad and conflicted about this, but I can honestly say that there was nothing else I could have done to make things go well. Despite my repeated visits to the lactation consultant, waking a sleepy baby to nurse ineffectively, pumping until I was crazy with fatigue, trying to put her back to the breast with intense pain, etc, it just did not work. She got breastmilk for five and a half weeks. I guess this is something. And, as a lot of the people I talked to said, including a lactation consultant I work with, most women would have given up long before I did. So, we did the best we could. I am okay with this decision, even if I wish it had been different.
Freya is sweet, beautiful and smart. She gets some tummy time most days, and she is so strong! I read books to her almost every day, and we especially like the story of Ferdinand the bull. She is gaining weight really well, even if she does spit up more than we'd like. And, she was spitting up breastmilk just as much as formula, so I at least know that it is not the formula being hard on her gut. She especially likes to spit up on her papa. She also likes to poop the minute I hand her off to her papa. He has accused us of being in cahoots together, so I don't have to change as many poopy diapers.
Parenthood is hard - we are tired all the time. I rarely eat vegetables anymore - it seems like they are too much work to prepare. Showering has become something for which intense planning is required - make up and drying of hair is a rarity. Housecleaning standards are at an all-time low. My neck hurts from looking down so much - looking down to pump or looking down at Freya. But, she is so worth it! She is the best, and even if we are tired, we are happy. I would not have been ready to have her any earlier in my life, but I do sometimes wonder if I'd be better able to keep up with the demands of parenthood and all the things that come with it if I was younger. It doesn't matter, because I wouldn't have changed things, anyway. We are figuring things out.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)