We went to the ultrasound on Monday, and despite my measuring large, Freya is at a fairly normal weight. At this point, she is estimated to be 5 pounds 3 ounces. Of course, the ultrasound can be off a little, but that is the estimate. This is about a week ahead in weight, but it's much better than the month ahead that I measured at my midwife appt last week! I guess I have a lot of amniotic fluid. So, hopefully she'll grow into that fluid, and I won't keep growing enormous! It was fun to see her, even though the images were a little difficult to translate. It isn't one of those 3D image ultrasounds - just the traditional x-ray looking kind. I'm glad to know everything is okay in there, though! We didn't get a picture, because of course, she wouldn't get in a good position for one. But we'll be seeing her soon - only six and a half weeks until the due date! Crazy! I can't wait to see her, though - even if I'm scared about childbirth.
Last Sunday was one of the best parties I've ever had. Of course, there were two ladies responsible for that good time - Hope and Erin, my sisters-in-law. It was Freya's baby shower, and it was so much fun! I loved seeing everyone who was there, and it was fun to catch up and socialize. One thing I know for sure is that I have some awesome friends, and even after Freya is born, I don't want to lose those bonds. There have been times when life just gets busy, and I don't nurture those friendships enough. I hope that making sure I stay in touch with all those friends is a good example for Freya to make sure she has good girlfriends that are important in her life. I guess I should say "friends" and not "girlfriends", because I have some very good friends who are men, too, and I feel the same way about them. And, special thanks to Hope and Erin for making this party so special for me. I think I don't often allow people to do too much for me, and when I do, and people are so generous with their time and efforts, it makes me feel really good and happy inside. So, thanks to you two ladies, especially!
On a serious note, I am getting scared about the big day. I will be so happy to see Freya, but I don't like the idea of childbirth at all, and I think I'm starting to stress about it. I know logically that it will be okay, but just not knowing what to expect is kind of hard. And then, finding out about some stuff that will happen makes me nervous, too! Like, when they'll put the hookup for an IV in my hand when I go to the hospital- even before they need to give me anything, like fluids. I don't want that in my hand all the time! And then I think if I ask them not to do it, they'll think I'm a baby, and then they'll get this idea about me that I'm a problem patient. Now, some things I am fine to speak my mind about, and I don't want to give anyone the impression that I'm timid when it comes to making sure my wishes are respected, but the IV hookup seems like such a small thing to refuse, so if I do refuse it, then I don't know what they'll think if I decide I want an epidural! I just wish we could birth them at around two to three months, and then they could climb into a pouch, like marsupials.
You'll be great Erin. Just think really bad poopy cramps and then a break. Really bad poopy cramps and then a break. Some pretty good burning discomfort when her head is coming out but by then you'll be so happy the poopy cramps are over that you won't even mind. That, and also that you'll know her arrival is imminent. It'll be a breeze. Don't worry so much mama'
ReplyDelete